Someday is yesterday.

I knew her voice before she spoke. I could hear her whisper my name in a crowded sea of people. I saw the light in her eyes in the darkest of nights, and watched shadows fall across her face seated under those massive ancient trees you find shelter beneath during warm summer days

Life has a strange way of sneaking up on you and quietly taking from you the few things you swore to hold on to, Like the waves washing away silly hearts you drew in the sand together. It isn’t always sudden and gut wrenching; It isn’t blatant and abrupt. it is gradual, unnoticeable, gentle even…

Are we all that naïve? Does everyone at that age believe in happy endings and together forever? I guess so. if not I suppose I wouldn’t be staring at these wedding pictures like a dumbstruck idiot. This is not the ending I envisioned. But it is an ending nevertheless. A bittersweet ending and a blissful beginning. Perspective I suppose.

She once asked me if I knew what happiness was…I replied I wasn’t quite sure. She told me that happiness was a lie!!! Profound. Jaded. And perhaps (sadly) true! Strange that we know that nothing is forever and yet we strive to be happy in almost every action we do…

I remember the happiest moment we shared together. A gloomy windy night, curled up together watching “One Tree Hill” I distinctly remember it was Season 9, Episode 13…both “Unlucky” numbers and I thought to myself how terrible it was that such a blissful moment would coincide with such inauspicious numbers…However I do recall, with infinite fondness the following quote…and 10 years after…It suddenly makes sense…

"It’s the oldest story in the world. One day you’re 17 and planning for someday. And then quietly, and without you ever really noticing, someday is today, and someday is yesterday, and this is your life."

If only we knew back then where we’d stand right now…would we have made the choices we did? I hope so. After all…its not half bad, the lives we’ve made for ourselves.

~ by Kaiser Kobayashi on August 6, 2014.

2 Responses to “Someday is yesterday.”

  1. […] Someday is yesterday. […]

  2. Life does have that effect where you think that everything’s a happy ending. Once fallen down the dreadful pit, you only come back up toughened up.
    Never will you look at life the same!
    Also something to keep in mind is that you’re not the only one. So help will always be there within reach.

Leave a Reply

 
